Home

While playing in his childhood, José Marín dreamed to be a jeweler in his family workshop. Dreams sometimes come true. José Marín is now a famous jeweler, although he is still playing every time he creates a collection. We know more things about an atypical jeweler who has opted in experimenting without leaving off the traditional way.

After two consecutive nominations of National Crafts Awards for your innovative works, will the game plan be fulfilled? Will the valencian jewelry finally win a National Award?

For me, yes it will. This time I am going to present for the National Crafts Award, and I will try with all the gunpowder that I have, because I am not interested in the product, I do not really like to categorize my work.

N6-ENTREV-JoseMarin2

You are from a family of jewelers. How and when did you decide to become a professional jeweler?

Well, I started going to the “Gremio de Joyeros” school at thirteen, then and to 16 years old I got hired by our workshop teacher. At that moment, I realized that it was taken serious.

You are keeping a constant renewal of objects and collections in your workshop catalog. Actually, what are you working on?

I’m about to finish “The Colors of The Jungle” collection for an expected exposure in December at Mobilia Gallery in Cambridge, Massachusetts (USA).

You have ushered in innovation in the choice of materials and a peculiar system of color application to metals. Could you explain to us more about the techniques you use?

Easy. This is the secret. Working manually as in ancient times, but with a different material; the Titanium. However, finding how to do it has been the great difficulty.

J.MARIN-PNA2013.-PHOTO-©-GSUS-FDEZ-5

What are your sources of inspiration?

Well, from the quite varied. I drink constantly from nature, but also I have a collection inspired by the sexual ambiguity and a project inspired by the desert, among other influences.

Over the past few years, you’ve started a strong internationalization for your brand. What are foreign markets calling for?

Really I don’t know and I’m trying to let it up. I’m doing what I want and what I like because I’m looking for artistic freedom. That’s honestly right. I have spent many years working as a freelance designer and trying to materialize the others’ ideas, but now I no longer like it.

Since your professional work has paved the way for you to enter diverse markets as the North American and Swiss one, how is the Spanish craftmanship abroad?

I’ve tried for Switzerland, but still resisting. However, I could stand on myself in Australia and USA. I perceive a great attraction for Spain, and for me in particular, they treat me with great respect and regard.

Nevertheless, you’re still involved in the training of new jewelers. What do you expect?

To answer the question, I am expecting them a comparable preparation to the European studies, since this year Valencia is the only community in Spain to implement the degree of jewelry. As far as my relationship with the training is concerned, it is much more now since I start working as a teacher of artistic jewelry techniques at the Escola d’Art i Superior de Disseny in Valencia (EASD).

How have these years of recession affected the jewelry? Would it be stronger? Or, on the contrary, has it lost its value among other disciplines such as costume jewelry?

Well, economically I don’t think so, it is the very opposite. I doubt that all what has been lost could be back again. However, which still standing on is due to a well-adaptation. Generally, what we have experienced is a change from the new generations. Now, learning jewelry art is stalked to become as an artist and not as technicians who were working for companies, like before.

